District 3 race gets another candidate

DTL Staff
Staff Writer

Two weeks after the last person qualified, another candidate jumped into politics Thursday.

Willie S. “Lobo” Dean, of 9722 Highway 47, qualified to run for District 3 supervisor. He joins incumbent R.B. Davis and West Point firefighter Heath Donahoo in the race.

Qualifying opened Jan. 2 and continues until 5 p.m. March 1.

The Democratic and Republican primaries are Aug. 6 with runoffs three weeks later if necessary. The winners of the party nominations face off in the Nov. 5 general election and take office Jan. 1, 2020.

All the candidates who qualified so far are running as Democrats.

District 1 Supervisor: Henry “Gene” Brown, incumbent Lynn Horton, and Marion McClenton.

District 2 Supervisor: Incumbent Luke Lummus.

District 4 Supervisor: Incumbent Shelton Deanes.

District 5 Supervisor: Incumbent Joe Chandler , iJimmy McKee, and Bill Tribble.

Circuit Court Clerk: Deputy Clerk Barbara Jean Spraggins and former Justice Court judge candidate Jimmy Taggart.

Sheriff: Incumbent Eddie Scott, Department of Corrections probation officer Jeremiah Slaten.

Chancery Court Clerk: Incumbent Amy Berry.

Tax Assessor: Deputy Tax Assessor Porsha Johnson Lee.

Coroner: Incumbent Alvin Carter.

Justice Court judges: Incumbents Chris McBrayer and Thomas Hampton.

County Prosecutor: Incumbent Michelle Easterling.

Constables: Incumbents Sherman Ivy and Lewis Stafford.