Construction on center at Una Community Park underway

Mary Rumore
Staff Writer

The new community center at Una Community Park was set up last week, and construction on the center should be completed within the next six weeks.

District 4 Supervisor Shelton Deanes said the new community center will feature a kitchen with a commercial stove and freezers, a conference room, bathrooms, tables, chairs and a small stage.

Deanes said the interior walls and plumbing in the building still need to be completed.

Deanes said the community center could be rented for weddings, revivals and other church events, birthday parties and gospel concerts.

The Una Community Park already has a playground, 20 feet by 40 feet covered area with a small kitchen bathrooms and picnic tables, a basketball court and .3 mile walking track.

Deanes said once the indoor community center was finished, it would provide a gathering place for the community regardless of the weather.

“The Lord blessed us to be able to get the building up,” he said.

Clay County Chancery Clerk Amy Berry said the total cost of construction of the new community center is $60,000.

Berry said Clay County was paying for the construction of the building, and District 4 will reimburse the other four districts for the cost of the project.

Berry said any donations for the project must be made to Clay County and be approved by the Clay County Board of Supervisors, and donated funds would placed in the Debt Service Fund to retire the debt of the project.

Deanes said the 4.9 acres the park and community center were located on were deeded to the county by George Knox, and Anthony Gwathney donated the plumbing and groundwork for the building.

“If anyone wants to donate, donations are greatly appreciated,” he said.

Deanes said he also hopes to have the basketball court and walking track resurfaced in the future.

The Una Community Park is open from 6 a.m. until 8 p.m. In anyone is interested in reserving the park or community center for an event contact Una Community Park Committee President Sylvester Walker at (662) 456-4866 or committee clerk Sandra Wofford at (662) 456-4034.