Skip to main content

Green Wave named to All-State football teams

December 13, 2011

West Point's early exit from the playoffs hasn't stopped several Green Wave from earning postseason honors in 2011. This week, four Green Wave were named to the Class 5A MHSAA All-State team as chosen by the coaches.

Senior Romia Wilson, who was also selected to represent in the Mississippi/Alabama All-Star game earned his his second post season honor after being named to First-Team Offense.

Defensive tackle Freddie Reed earned First-Team Defense honors, he was also selected First-Team All-Region. Reed led the team in tackles with 74, averaging over six a game. He also had 6.5 sacks and touchdown from a fumble recovery.

Brandon Edwards, who had two tackles and a sack for Mississippi in the all-star game last weekend, earned Second-Team defense honors along with teammate Tez Lane who was listed on special teams. Edwards was third on the team in tackles with 70 this season including 3.5 sacks. Lane, who had 12 total touchdowns, finished with 1,089-yards rushing and 117-yards receiving.

The complete list is below.

First Team Offense
Player of the Year: Gabe Myles, Jr., QB, Starkville
Coach of the Year: Dodd Lee, Picayune
WR ‹ D.J. Thompson, Sr., Pearl
WR ‹ Jalen Gaston, Sr., Saltillo
TE ‹ Tanner Bryan, Jr., Picayune
OL ‹ Cordarrly Gaines, Sr., Provine
OL ‹ Jocquell Johnson, Sr., Callaway
OL ‹ Jawon Johnson, Jr., Starkville
OL ‹ Romia Wilson, Sr., West Point
OL ‹ Kirby Wixson, Sr., Pearl
RB ‹ Deronte Magee, Sr., Picayune
RB ‹ Quardarius Armour, Sr., Ridgeland
FB ‹ Antwon Wells, Sr., East Central
QB ‹ Dazmon Wright, Sr., Yazoo City
K ‹ Grant Warren, Jr., Pascagoula

Second Team Offense
WR ‹ Chad Cook, Jr., Long Beach
WR ‹ Chris Smith, Sr., Yazoo City
TE ‹ Breland Hoye, Jr., Pascagoula
OL ‹ Deion Simpson, Sr., Moss Point
OL ‹ Devonte Bouldin, Jr., Canton
OL ‹ Lee West, Sr., Wayne County
OL ‹ Clifton Smith, Jr., Oxford
OL ‹ Jamaal White, Sr., Neshoba Central
RB ‹ Mont Dean, Sr., Oxford
RB ‹ Richard Hampton, Sr., Center Hill
FB ‹ Trey Wynn, Sr., Pearl River Central
QB ‹ Joe Kirkland, Sr., Moss Point
K ‹ Tyler Poe, Sr., Pearl

First Team Defense
Player of the Year ‹ Richie Brown, Sr., LB, Long Beach
DL ‹ Cory Cannon, Sr., Starkville
DL ‹ Anthony Cunningham, Sr., Wayne County
DL ‹ Freddie Reed, Jr., West Point
DL ‹ Ladarius Coleman, Sr., Moss Point
LB ‹ Troy Egona, Sr., Picayune
LB ‹ Artis Thigpen, Sr., West Jones
LB ‹ Jymal Ellis, Sr., Ridgeland
LB ‹ Ladarien Sims, Sr., Wayne County
DB ‹ Ken Breland, Sr., Picayune
DB ‹ Greg Sims, Sr., Brookhaven
DB ‹ Deonte Evans, Sr., McComb
DB ‹ Kris Givens, Sr., Ridgeland
P ‹ Alex Hawkins, Sr., Ridgeland
KR ‹ Jarrid Smith, Sr., Lanier
LS ‹ John David Bass, Sr., Ridgeland

Second Team Defense
DL ‹ Jordan Harris, Sr., Clarksdale
DL ‹ Delchey Williams, Sr., West Jones
DL ‹ Eric Rogers, Sr., Starkville
DL ‹ Jaboree Pool, Jr., Brookhaven
LB ‹ Brandon Edwards, Sr., West Point
LB ‹ Bobby Wallace, Sr., Wayne County
LB ‹ Cavellis Luckett, Sr., McComb
LB ‹ Caliph Muhammad, Sr., Center Hill
DB ‹ O’Neal McCarty, Jr., Neshoba Central
DB ‹ Marcus Betts, Sr., Long Beach
DB ‹ Johnny Smith, Jr., Starkville
DB ‹ Cordarryl Weathersby, Sr., Pascagoula
P ‹ Matthew Turcotte, So., Neshoba Central
KR ‹ Tez Lane, Jr., West Point
LS ‹ Bobby Daggett, Jr., Pascagoula

View more articles in:
New England vs. Seattle 2/1 6:30 (ET) University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, AZ
BY WILL NATIONS In both teams’ MAIS District 2-AA finale, an extra...
BY WILL NATIONS Any gift six Oak Hill Academy seniors received prior to...



Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes